A Riviera Retreat
180 pages
English

Vous pourrez modifier la taille du texte de cet ouvrage

Découvre YouScribe en t'inscrivant gratuitement

Je m'inscris

A Riviera Retreat , livre ebook

-

Découvre YouScribe en t'inscrivant gratuitement

Je m'inscris
Obtenez un accès à la bibliothèque pour le consulter en ligne
En savoir plus
180 pages
English

Vous pourrez modifier la taille du texte de cet ouvrage

Obtenez un accès à la bibliothèque pour le consulter en ligne
En savoir plus

Description

'A gorgeous and captivating read that made me want to jump straight on a plane to the south of France.' Samantha Tonge *From the bestselling author of Villa of Sun and Secrets*

Take time out to find what makes you happy...

When Retreat owner Amy offers three lucky competition winners a holiday on the Cote d’Azur, she has no idea that this simple act of kindness will have life-changing repercussions on her own life as well as those who join her…

Young entrepreneur Chelsea has just been subjected to a very public relationship break up and needs to get away to lick her wounds.

MP’s wife Victoria is at a crossroads in her life now that the children have left home. She realises she has ambitions of her own and needs some ‘me time’ to figure things out.

Recently widowed Matilda is assessing life without her beloved husband. Can she find the courage to follow their dream on her own?

The four women, despite their differences, bond and support each other, making memories and forming friendships that will last for years.

A heart-warming, uplifting novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Erica James.

What readers are saying about A Riviera Retreat
'This is not a book you will forget in a hurry. Can’t wait for her next book.'

'An evocative and beautifully written story.'

'I loved this book. It's a real page turner I just couldn't put it down.'

'I thoroughly adored this book'

'I loved every moment of this book and already looking forward to the author's next story.

'I've fallen in love with every Jennifer Bohnet novel I have ever read and this one is no exception. They are jammed full with stunning settings and wonderful characters that just melt your heart.'

'I adored how this novel celebrated female friendship and its ability to repair and support without judgement. Such a fantastic novel - perfect to devour and delight in with a glass of wine and a few hours of peace.'

'It is a perfect summer read, for holidays, or just relaxing with. It is a very gentle and nice read. It is well written and easygoing. I enjoyed reading this book, and I will definitely recommend this book.'

'I was hooked right away from the first few pages.'

'A real taste of summer.'

'A great book about making new friends and finding yourself.'


Sujets

Informations

Publié par
Date de parution 23 janvier 2020
Nombre de lectures 5
EAN13 9781838891893
Langue English

Informations légales : prix de location à la page 0,0250€. Cette information est donnée uniquement à titre indicatif conformément à la législation en vigueur.

Extrait

A Riviera Retreat


Jennifer Bohnet
To Richard with love
Contents



Prologue


Prologue

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Day One Of The Holiday – June 6


Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Day Two Of The Holiday – June 7


Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Day Three Of The Holiday – June 8


Chapter 8

Day Four Of The Holiday – June 9


Chapter 9

Day Five Of The Holiday – June 10


Chapter 10

Chapter 11

Day Six Of The Holiday – June 11


Chapter 12

Chapter 13

Chapter 14

Chapter 15

Day Seven Of The Holiday – June 12


Chapter 16

Day Eight Of The Holiday – June 13


Chapter 17

Chapter 18

Chapter 19

Day Nine Of The Holiday – June 14


Chapter 20

Chapter 21

Chapter 22

Chapter 23

Chapter 24

Day Ten Of The Holiday – June 16


Chapter 25

Chapter 26

Chapter 27

Chapter 28

Chapter 29

Chapter 30

The Morning Of Departure


Chapter 31

Epilogue


Acknowledgments

More from Jennifer Bohnet

About the Author

About Boldwood Books

Prologue

A restless Amy Martin wandered alone through Belle Vue Villa one Sunday afternoon in late March, lost deep in her memories and regrets. Today, the fifth anniversary of the opening of 'Bell Vue Retreat', was bittersweet in so many ways. She opened the kitchen door and stood on the terrace looking out over the garden towards the Mediterranean Sea glinting in the afternoon sunshine in the distance. Situated high up in the hills behind Cannes, Belle Vue Villa, one of the smaller belle époque villas along the coast, had enviable views overlooking the sea and over to the Esterel Mountains.
Standing there, Amy sniffed the air and looked around her appreciatively. The perfume from the several mimosa trees in the garden wafted past her, courtesy of the gentle onshore breeze. Amy thought, not for the first time, how life could surprise you with its endless unexpected twists and turns. Some bad. Some good.
The death of Aunt Tasha, her mother Fleur's older sister, had been so sad, but leaving her Belle Vue had been a wonderful surprise – and something of a lifesaver. The two siblings had remained close throughout their lives, but whilst Fleur had stayed near to home when she married, Tasha had followed the love of her life to France and embraced everything that country had to offer. Amy remembered countless family summers spent in Belle Vue Villa, listening to the two sisters reminiscing about their eccentric childhood in the wilds of Somerset.
Fleur had been devastated by her sister’s early death, telling Amy she’d always known that the villa was to be left to her because a childless Tasha had adored her. ‘It’s just that none of us expected it to happen so soon,’ she’d cried.
Walking alone into the hauntingly silent villa the day the notaire had handed her the keys, knowing it was now hers, Amy had failed to stop the tears flowing. Tears of sorrow but also of guilt. She’d seen so little of Tasha in the last few years. They’d talked regularly and Fleur had kept her up to date with Tasha’s news and later her illness, but Amy had rarely visited. Pressure of work had been her prime excuse, although sadly not the full truth. The guilt that had flooded her body after that last hospital visit to see Tasha had been painful. The fact that Belle Vue had enabled her to escape her old life and create a new one for herself gave her an overwhelming feeling of gratitude. Knowing it was the direct result of Aunt Tasha dying though was the hardest thing to bear and accept. A true bittersweet inheritance.
Tasha had run Belle Vue Villa as a successful auberge after Francois, her husband, had died and Amy knew that the villa would have to continue to earn its keep for her in the future. Rather than having holidaymakers turn up willy-nilly looking for a bed, Amy decided to focus on offering short retreats for writers and painters throughout the year. That way she'd always know how busy she'd be – with the added bonus of not having to worry about unexpected or unwanted strangers knocking on the door at all times of the day or night.
Lots of Tasha’s guests had left comments in the visitor’s book over the years, saying how special the house felt; how serene the atmosphere around the place was; several had said the villa was definitely a little French paradise. Amy had vowed to herself that she would do her utmost to keep the lovely ambiance that Tasha had masterfully created in and around the villa, while she endeavoured to put her own stamp on the place.
Five years on, Amy knew she could feel proud of what she'd achieved at Belle Vue. The auberge was now a popular venue as a retreat for artists and writers and it was her guests who left compliments in the visitor’s book and were returning time and time again. One particular writer had returned four times last year, saying she wrote more in a week when staying there than she wrote in a month at home. Amy knew Tasha would be proud and thrilled for her at the way the retreat had found its place in a niche market and taken off so well.
Turning back into the kitchen, Amy picked up the photo of her aunt that stood on the dresser and gently touched it. She owed Tasha so much. Thoughtfully, she replaced the photo. But how to show that gratitude? Tasha had always drummed into her the notion ‘it’s easy to take, but you must always, always give back too’. Amy knew that if Tasha had still been alive, she’d have wholeheartedly endorsed the current ‘do a random act of kindness for a stranger’ memes that seemed to appear every day on social media.
Amy smiled, remembering how Tasha had thoroughly embraced social media, joining groups, signing up for causes and having hundreds of friends on Facebook. Amy also knew her grateful act of ‘paying it back’ was long overdue, but despite thinking about it for weeks, months, not a single idea had surfaced. Nothing she thought of seemed grateful enough.
She glanced at the kitchen clock. A little early, but she'd open the bottle of wine she'd bought especially for today and leave it to breathe for a while. Opening a bottle of wine and silently toasting Tasha while watching the DVD of the film Enchanted April was a ritual that always finished off this particular day for Amy. Tasha had introduced her to the film and together they had watched it countless times.
As the credits rolled at the end of the film, Amy switched off the DVD, poured the last of the wine into her glass and opened her laptop, her head spinning not only from the wine she’d drunk but also with the perfect idea of how to give something back. To finally thank the universe for her good fortune.
Like the film she’d just watched, where an advertisement drew four women together, all strangers to each other, for a holiday in an Italian castle in the 1920s, her random act of kindness would begin with an advertisement too. Not in a newspaper but on twenty-first century social media.

Are you a woman who longs to spend time in retreat? Or simply in need of a holiday?
Answer the following question: Who wrote the book Enchanted April , and in less than one hundred words say which character you identify with most and why you need to win a holiday (June 6–16) at a retreat in the countryside behind the French Riviera. Travel expenses not included but low-cost flights are available to Nice. Transport to and from the airport will be arranged. Please note the date of the holiday on offer is NOT changeable or transferable.
Competition closes midnight the 31st of this month. Three lucky winners will be notified by email within one week of the competition closing.



A week later on the first of the following month, Amy opened the file she’d saved all the entries in and began sorting through the replies. All sixty-five of them. Quite a respectable number, considering the details had been on Facebook for such a short time. Some entries she discarded immediately – either the answer to the question was incorrect or the writer was clearly blagging in the hope of winning a holiday. One entry even brazenly stated ‘no idea of the answers, but I need a holiday so would be very grateful to win.’
Amy printed out the rest of the entries, numbering the pages individually from one to fifty-seven as the printer threw them out into the tray. Then she tore up some paper into small pieces before numbering those too, from one to fifty-seven and placing them all in a deep cake tin with a lid and shaking it violently for several seconds. Carefully, she took the lid off, closed her eyes tightly and plucked out three random pieces of paper. When she opened her eyes and looked, she’d picked out numbers 13, 27 and 41.
Flicking through the printouts, she identified the corresponding numbers:
Number 13 was a Vicky Lewis from London.
Number 27 was a Chelsea Newman from Bristol.
Number 41 was a Matilda Richardson, also from Bristol
Opening her

  • Univers Univers
  • Ebooks Ebooks
  • Livres audio Livres audio
  • Presse Presse
  • Podcasts Podcasts
  • BD BD
  • Documents Documents