La lecture en ligne est gratuite
Le téléchargement nécessite un accès à la bibliothèque YouScribe
Tout savoir sur nos offres
Télécharger Lire

Partagez cette publication

Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation Announces Physics Frontiers and New Horizons in Physics Prizes Along With Two Special Prizes
PR Newswire NEW YORK and GENEVA, December 11, 2012
NEW YORK and GENEVA,December 11, 2012/PRNewswire/ --
Two$3,000,000special Fundamental Physics Prizes have been awarded toStephen Hawking and toseven scientists who led the effort to discover a Higgs-like particle at CERN's Large Hadron Collider
[i] The winner of the 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize will be announced at a ceremony at CERNonMarch 20, 2013
The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize and includes Nima Arkani-Hamed, Alan Guth, Alexei Kitaev, Maxim Kontsevich, Andrei Linde, Juan Maldacena, Nathan Seiberg, Ashoke Sen and Edward Witten, is pleased to announce:
1. The laureates of 2013Physics Frontiers Prizeare:
Charles Kane,Laurens MolenkampandShoucheng Zhangfor the theoretical prediction and experimental discovery of topological insulators.
Alexander Polyakovfor his many discoveries in field theory and string theory including the conformal bootstrap, magnetic monopoles, instantons, confinement/de-confinement, the quantization of strings in non-critical dimensions, gauge/string duality and many others. H is ideas have dominated the scene in these fields during the past decades.
Joseph PolchinskiHis discovery offor his contributions in many areas of quantum field theory and string theory. D-branes has given new insights into the nature of string theory and quantum gravity, with consequences including the AdS/CFT correspondence.
2. Laureates of the 2013Physics Frontiers Prizewill become nominees for the 2013Fundamental Physics Prize.The winner of theFundamental Physics Prizewill be announced by the Selection Committee at a prize ceremony that will take place at CERN onMarch 20, 2013.
3. ThePhysics Frontiers Prizelaureates who do not go on to be awarded theFundamental Physics Prizewill each receive$300,000and will automatically be re-nominated for theFundamental Physics Prizeeach year for the next 5 years.
4. The laureates of 2013New Horizons in Physics Prizeare:
Niklas Beisertfor the development of powerful exact methods to describe a quantum gauge theory and its associated string theory.
Davide Gaiottofor far-reaching new insights about duality, gauge theory, and geometry, and especially for his work linking theories in different dimensions in most unexpected ways.
Zohar Komargodskifor his work on the dynamics of four-dimensional field theories. In particular, his proof (with Schwimmer) of the "a-theorem" has solved a long-standing problem, leading to deep new insights.
Each of the laureates will receive$100,000.
5. In addition, the Selection Committee, foregoing the regular nomination process, announces the laureates of two Special Fundamental Physics Prizesof$3,000,000each:
One toStephen Hawkingfor his discovery of Hawking radiation from black holes, and his deep contributions to quantum gravity and quantum aspects of the early universe.
One to be shared by the leaders of the LHC project, CMS and ATLAS experiments from the time the LHC was
approved by the CERN Council in 1994, includingPeter Jenni,Fabiola Gianotti(ATLAS),Michel Della Negra, Tejinder Singh Virdee,Guido Tonelli,Joe Incandela(CMS) andLyn Evans(LHC), for their leadership role in the scientific endeavour that led to the discovery of the new Higgs-like particle by the ATLAS and CMS collaborations at CERN's Large Hadron Collider.
6. All prizes will be funded by the Milner Foundation
"Choosing this year's recipients from such a large pool of spectacular nominations was a very difficult task",said Nima Arkani-Hamed, a member of the Selection Committee."The selected physicists have done transformative work spanning a wide range of areas in fundamental physics. I especially look forward to future breakthroughs from the first recipients of the New Horizons in Physics Prize."
"It is a great honour for the LHC's achievement to be recognised in this way,"said CERN Director General Rolf Heuer."This prize recognizes the work of everyone who has contributed to the project over many years. The Fundamental Physics Prize underlines the value of fundamental physics to society, and I am delighted that the Foundation has chosen to hold its first award cerem ony at CERN."
"IamverymuchpleasedwiththedecisionsoftheSelectionCommittee,"commented Yuri Milner."I hope that the prizes will bring further recognition to some of the most brilliant minds in the world and the great accomplishments they have produced."
About the Prizes
The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation established by the Milner Foundation and dedicated to advancing our knowledge of the Universe at the deepest level by awarding annual prizes for scientific breakthroughs, as well as communicating the excitem ent of fundamental physics to the public. According to the Foundation's rules, laureates of all prizes are chosen by a Selection Committee, which is comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize. The Selection Committee for the 2013 prizes is comprised of the following:
Nima Arkani-Hamed Alan Guth Alexei Kitaev Maxim Kontsevich Andrei Linde Juan Maldacena Nathan Seiberg Ashoke Sen Edward Witten
Information on the Fundamental Physics Prize is available at:
i. CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its mem ber states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Romania is a candidate for accession. Israel and Serbia are associate members in the pre-stage to membership. India, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO have observer status.
Media Contacts
Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation: Leonid Solovyev CERN:
Un pour Un
Permettre à tous d'accéder à la lecture
Pour chaque accès à la bibliothèque, YouScribe donne un accès à une personne dans le besoin