Directory of the European Commission
204 pages
Le téléchargement nécessite un accès à la bibliothèque YouScribe
Tout savoir sur nos offres

Directory of the European Commission


Le téléchargement nécessite un accès à la bibliothèque YouScribe
Tout savoir sur nos offres
204 pages


Activities of the institutions and bodies



Publié par
Nombre de lectures 21
Langue English
Poids de l'ouvrage 2 Mo


of the European
16 DECEMBER 1993 Directory
of the European
16 DECEMBER 1993 Cataloguing data can be found at the end of this publication
The information in the Directory was correct at the time of going to press but is liable to
Luxembourg: Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1994
ISBN 92-826-7377-4
Reproduction is authorized, except for commercial purposes, provided the source is
Printed in Luxembourg Contents
The Commission 5
Special responsibilities of the Members of the Commission 7
Secretariat-General of the Commission 9
— Forward Studies Unit 13
Legal Service7
Spokesman's Service9
Joint Interpreting and Conference Service 21
Statistical Office3
Translation Service
Informatics Directorate 3
Security Office5
DG I — External Economic Relations7
DG IA — External Political Relations 4
TFE — Enlargement Task Force
DG II — Economic and Financial Affairs9
DG III — Industry 53
DG IV — Competition
DG V — Employment, Industrial Relations and Social Affairs 6
DG VI — Agriculture 67
— Veterinary and Phytosanitary Office 73
DG VII — Transport5
DG VIII — DevelopmentDG IX — Personnel and Administration 83
DG X — Audiovisual Media, Information, Communication and Culture 87
DG XI — Environment, Nuclear Safety and Civil Protection 91
DG XII — Science, Research and Development
— Joint Research Centre 97
DG XIII — Telecommunications, Information Market and Exploitation of Research 103
DGXIV —Fisheries 109
DG XV —Internal Market and Financial Services 113
DG XVI — Regional Policies
DGXVII — Energy 121
DG XVIII—Credit and Investments5
DG XIX —Budgets7
DG XX — Financial Control9
DG XXI —Customs and Indirect Taxation 133
DG XXIII— Enterprise Policy, Distributive Trades. Tourism and Cooperatives 13
Consumer Policy Service7
Task Force for Human Resources, Education. Training and Youth
European Community Humanitarian Office 141
Euratom Supply Agency3
Office for Official Publications of the European Communities5
European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions 14
European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (Cedefop)9
Annexes 151
Index of names 18The Commission
Tel. 299 11 11 Rue de la Loi 200, B­1049 Bruxelles
Telex 21877 COMEU Β Wetstraat 200, B­1049 Brussel
President Jacques DELORS
Chef de cabinet Pascal LAMY
Deputy Chef de cabinet Jean­Pierre JOUYET
Adviser Michel PETITE r Bernhard ZEPTER
Vice­President of the Commission Henning CHRISTOPHERSEN
Chef de cabinet Bjarne BLADBJERG
Deputy Chef de cabinet Jan Høst SCHMIDT
Adviser Per VINTHER
Vice­President of the Commission Manuel MARIN
Chef de cabinet Ignacio GARCIA­VALDECASAS
Deputy Chef de cabinet Jordi AYET PUIGARNAU
Member of the Commission Martin BANGEMANN
Chef de cabinet Jörg WENZEL
Deputy Chef de cabinet Paul WEISSENBERG
Member of the Commission Sir Leon BRITTAN
Chef de cabinet Colin BUDD
Deputy Chef de cabinet Catherine DAY
Member of the Commission Abel MATUTES
Chef de cabinet Ramón DE MIGUEL
Deputy Chef de cabinet José Ignacio SALAFRANCA
Member of the Commission Peter SCHMIDHUBER
Chef de cabinet Marceli von DONAT
Deputy Chef de cabinet Wolfgang ARTOPOEUS
Member of the Commission Christiane SCRIVENER
Chef de cabinet Emmanuel CONSTANS
Deputy Chef de cabinet Jacques DELMOLY
Member of the Commission Bruce MILLAN
Chef de cabinet Susan BINNS
Deputy Chef de cabinet Dius LENNON Member of the Commission Karel VAN MIERT
Chef de cabinet Claude CHENE
Deputy Chef de cabinet Gustaaf DIERCKX
Adviser Nigel EVANS
Member of the Commission Hans VAN DEN BROEK
Chef de cabinet Sipke BROUWER
Deputy Chef de cabinet Ed KRONENBURG
Adviser Françoise GAUDENZI r Michael LEIGH
Member of the Commission João de Deus PINHEIRO
Chef de cabinet Carlos COSTA
Deputy Chef de cabinet Fernando BALSINHA
Pádraig FLYNN Member of the Commission
Chef de cabinet Joseph BROSNAN
Deputy Chef de cabinet Bobby McDONAGH
Member of the Commission Antonio RUBERTI
Chef de cabinet Marco SANTOPINTO
Deputy Chef de cabinet Pietro Paolo MEROLLA
Member of the Commission René STEICHEN
Chef de cabinet Jim CLOOS
Deputy Chef de cabinet Martine REICHERTS
Member of the Commission Ioannis PALEOKRASSAS
Chef de cabinet Yannis KOUTSOUKOS
Deputy Chef de cabinet Stephanos SAMARAS
Member of the Commission Raniero VANNI D'ARCHIRAFI
Chef de cabinet Gian Battista VERDERAME
Deputy Chef de cabinet Michele PASCA-RAYMONDO Special responsibilities of the Members of the Commission
President Jacques DELORS Secretariat-General
Forward Studies Unit
Legal Service
Monetary matters
Spokesman's Service
Joint Interpreting and
Conference Service
Security Office
Economic and Financial affairs Vice-President Henning CHRISTOPHERSEN
Monetary matters (in agreement of the
with Mr Delors) Commission
Credit and investments
Statistical Office
Cooperation and development: Vice-President Manuel MARIN
of the • Economic cooperation with
Commission southern Mediterranean, Middle
East, Latin America and Asia
• Lomé Convention
European Community
Humanitarian Office
Member of the Martin BANGEMANN Industrial affairs
Information technologies and Commission
Member of the External economic affairs (North Sir Leon BRITTAN
Commission America, Japan, China,
Commonwealth of Independent
States, Europe including Central
and Eastern Europe)
Trade policy
Member of the Abel MATUTES Energy and Euratom Supply
Commission Agency
Member of the Peter SCHMIDHUBER Budget
Commission Financial Control
Anti-fraud measures
Cohesion Fund: coordination
and management Member of the Christiane SCRIVENER Customs and indirect taxation
Commission Direct taxation
Consumer policy
Member of the Bruce MILLAN Regional policies
Commission Relations with the Committee of
the Regions
Member of the Karel VAN MIERT Competition
Commission Personnel and administration
Translation and information
Member of the Hans VAN DEN BROEK External political relations
Commission Common foreign and security
Enlargement negotiations
Member of the João de Deus PINHEIRO Relations with the European Par­
Commission liament
Relations with the Member
States on transparency, commu­
nication and information
Culture and audiovisual policy
Office for Official Publications
Member of the Pádraig FLYNN Social affairs and employment
Commission Relations with the Economic and
Social Committee
Immigration, home affairs and
Member of the Antonio RUBERTI Science, research and develop­
Commission ment
Joint Research Centre
Human resources, education,
training and youth
Member of the Agriculture and rural develop­René STEICHEN
Commission ment
Member of the Ioannis PALEOKRASSAS Environment, nuclear safety and
Commission civil protection
Member of the Raniero VANNI D'ARCHIRAFI Institutional matters
Commission Internal market
Financial services
Enterprise policy: small business
and distributive trades