Remember Me?
174 pages
English

Vous pourrez modifier la taille du texte de cet ouvrage

Découvre YouScribe en t'inscrivant gratuitement

Je m'inscris

Découvre YouScribe en t'inscrivant gratuitement

Je m'inscris
Obtenez un accès à la bibliothèque pour le consulter en ligne
En savoir plus
174 pages
English

Vous pourrez modifier la taille du texte de cet ouvrage

Obtenez un accès à la bibliothèque pour le consulter en ligne
En savoir plus

Description

A perfect life…
Paul Henderson leads a normal life. A deputy headteacher at a good school, a loving relationship with girlfriend Jenna, and a baby on the way. Everything seems perfect.

A shocking message…

Until Paul receives a message from his ex-fiance Nicole. Beautiful, ambitious and fierce, Nicole is everything Jenna is not. And now it seems Nicole is back, and she has a score to settle with Paul…

A deadly secret.

But Paul can’t understand how Nicole is back. Because he’s pretty sure he killed her with his own bare hands….

Which means, someone else knows the truth about what happened that night. And they’ll stop at nothing to make Paul pay…

A brand new psychological thriller that will keep you guessing till the end! Perfect for fans of Sue Watson, Nina Manning, Shalini Boland


Sujets

Informations

Publié par
Date de parution 18 novembre 2021
Nombre de lectures 0
EAN13 9781802804157
Langue English

Informations légales : prix de location à la page 0,0300€. Cette information est donnée uniquement à titre indicatif conformément à la législation en vigueur.

Extrait

Remember Me?


Amanda Rigby
We dedicate this book to Christina Phillips
Contents



Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Chapter 8

Chapter 9

Chapter 10

Chapter 11

Chapter 12

Chapter 13

Chapter 14

Chapter 15

Chapter 16

Chapter 17

Chapter 18

Chapter 19

Chapter 20

Chapter 21

Chapter 22

Chapter 23

Chapter 24

Chapter 25

Chapter 26

Chapter 27

Chapter 28

Chapter 29

Chapter 30

Chapter 31

Chapter 32

Chapter 33

Chapter 34

Chapter 35

Chapter 36

Chapter 37

Chapter 38

Chapter 39

Chapter 40

Chapter 41

Chapter 42

Chapter 43

Chapter 44


Acknowledgments

More from Amanda Rigby

About the Author

About Boldwood Books
1

Hepworth Preparatory School nestled in fifty acres of rolling hills in the Leicestershire countryside, a bleak collection of red brick buildings that had been patchworked together over time. It had once been a boarding school, populated by the under-achieving male offspring of the local aristocracy, but in more recent times, and thanks to a recently appointed head teacher, their common entrance exam pass rate had soared, ensuring they’d become the co-ed school of choice in the area.
Still bloody cold, though.
Despite the daffodils that were covering the far field, Paul Henderson rubbed his hands together and glared at the radiator clinging to the wall for dear life. It was a relic from the Victorian era and served as a stark reminder that, despite all the improvements, funding was an issue. But he couldn’t complain. Unlike the sea of teachers who flocked to Hepworth hoping to use it as a springboard to move them up the ladder, Paul had no intention of leaving. For the last eight months he’d been acting Deputy Head and the Board of Governors would be making his position official in a matter of weeks. And rightly so, since he’d spent countless hours overhauling some of the antiquated, inefficient systems his predecessor had left behind, turning chaos into order.
There was a low hum of conversation, and he scanned the room. He’d split his year eight class up, and given each group a locked box, which had six different padlocks on them. The codes for each lock could only be found by solving the problems on the worksheets he’d handed out. In his experience, it managed to engage even the most resistant pupil.
He walked around until each group had managed to open their boxes, pride and excitement gleaming on their faces. And they said maths couldn’t be fun.
They were still discussing the results when the final bell for the morning’s session cut through the room.
Wwwwwwwaaaah.
Voices rose in the room next door, accompanied by the scraping of chairs, but none of his students stood up. They knew better. He wasn’t a strict teacher in the way that some of his colleagues were, but he demanded discipline and made sure his classes knew it. They all waited as he walked back to the desk.
‘Tonight, I want you to write about three things you learned today.’
‘Thought this was meant to be a maths class,’ someone grumbled from the back.
‘I could always give you some quadratic equations,’ Paul suggested, which earned him a laugh. He grinned and waved them off. ‘Get out of here before I change my mind.’
They didn’t need to be told twice. The class stood, accompanied by the squeal of chair legs being dragged against the cold tiled floors, and the students spilled out into the corridor. He should bring them back in and make them leave in a more orderly manner, but he didn’t.
Today was special. Jenna had reached the vital twelve-week stage in her pregnancy. She’d had a scare early on when she thought she might be losing the baby, but that had been a false alarm. According to the midwife, everything was progressing well.
On the way home he would stop and collect the gold necklace he’d ordered. It was a simple design with a tiny golden daisy hanging off it. Jenna often said she didn’t like flashy jewellery, which was good since his teacher’s salary would already be stretched with the arrival of the baby, but he wanted to give her something to let her know how he felt.
Meeting Jenna had changed his life. She was smart, funny, sexy. And soon to be the mother of his child.
He crossed the courtyard that linked his block to the administration office, and almost ran into Tim Barnes, the head teacher, who was flanked by two of the school governors. They were all dressed in suits, no doubt on their way to yet another meeting with someone from the Department of Education.
‘Sorry.’ He held up his hands by way of an apology.
‘My fault. We’ve had someone from the local radio station trying to interview parents,’ Tim said, running a hand through his thick dark blond hair, while the two governors looked steely-faced. Paul sighed. It had been like that ever since Eric Chambers, a senior teacher, had been filmed swigging from a vodka bottle by one of the year six girls during the journey to Kimbolton School for a netball tournament. The video had quickly found its way to the Internet and the damn thing had gone viral.
Two weeks later, Eric had been suspended and most of the television crews had disappeared from the front gates, but there was still far too much interest in Hepworth.
‘You’d think they would’ve given up by now,’ Paul said.
Tim grunted. ‘We can only hope. Anyway, we won’t keep you. We’ve got a one o’clock.’
‘Of course,’ Paul said as they hurried off. He continued through to what had been dubbed the ‘new court’. A circular garden surrounded by brick buildings, propped up by Doric pillars.
‘Excuse me, sir.’ One of his pupils appeared from behind him.
‘Yes, Henry?’ He glanced down at the young boy.
‘I won’t be at school next week and my mother asked if there’s any work I should be doing, so I don’t miss out.’
Missing school? They normally didn’t countenance time off during the term if it could be avoided.
‘Where are you going?’
‘Hospital.’ Henry grimaced. ‘I’m having my tonsils out.’
An operation. That explained it.
‘Don’t worry about the work, there will be plenty of time to catch up. You’ll need to rest after.’
Henry was an excellent student and was earmarked for an academic scholarship at his next school. His parents were driven, and it was typical that they would want him to continue studying even though he’d been in hospital.
‘Thank you, sir.’
‘I’m surprised you’re not having the operation in the school holidays. Or did the doctor want it carried out immediately?’
‘I can’t. We’ll be in France.’
Paul choked back a reply. Considering the parents wanted him to do well, their priorities appeared somewhat misguided. Not that they would place the blame on themselves. They believed that as they’d paid for their child’s education, the onus was on the teaching staff to ensure their child performed to their expectations. Still, Henry was a good kid, and Paul knew better than anyone that you couldn’t pick your parents.
‘I hope it all goes well. I’ll see you when you get back. Off you go.’
Paul sighed and headed for the staff room, where he grabbed himself a coffee and walked to a chair in the corner. It gave him a view of the entire room, yet was away from the hub, which meant he could separate himself from the usual staffroom gossip, which inevitably involved venting frustrations at certain pupils.
He retrieved his phone and opened up the article he’d been reading on baby buggies. Jenna had been keen for one she could use while jogging, but he wasn’t convinced the vibrations would be good for the baby. The research confirmed it.
He could just see her teasing smile as she told him he was being overprotective.
Guilty as charged.
He was going to make sure his child had every advantage in life. Everything that he’d never had. He took a sip of coffee and was about to pull out yesterday’s tests that still needed marking when a notification blinked up from his social media feed. Nicole Williams.
The low chatter of the room fell away, and the light seemed to fade to black as he stared at the screen.
Not possible.
He pressed on the notification and his ex-fiancée’s feed flashed up. In the corner was a familiar photo of her. It was one he’d taken in Greece, back when they were still together.
Back when they’d been in love.
Before it all turned to hell.


I’ve had enough of Australia. I’m back. Can’t wait to catch up with all of my old friends.
No. That couldn’t be right.
His pulse thudded in his ears, so loud it gave him a headache. Paul dragged his finger across the screen to r

  • Univers Univers
  • Ebooks Ebooks
  • Livres audio Livres audio
  • Presse Presse
  • Podcasts Podcasts
  • BD BD
  • Documents Documents